A forum for seekers everywhere...


    need opinion

    Share

    sprite
    Newbie

    Number of posts : 32
    Registration date : 2010-04-22

    need opinion

    Post  sprite on Fri Apr 23, 2010 2:40 am

    I have recently bought a great tarot deck but have been told
    different things about what should be done, one way is to sleep with
    them before using them which is what I thought but someone else has
    mentioned that they should be burried for 24 hrs. What is everyones
    opinion on which is the best way? I know at the end of the day that
    everyone is different but just wondered if there are any beneifts of
    doing it one way or the other.
    avatar
    Violet
    Admin

    Female
    Number of posts : 24343
    Location : UK
    Registration date : 2009-02-15

    Re: need opinion

    Post  Violet on Fri Apr 23, 2010 2:48 am

    Hi Sprite i've been using tarot and buying them new and second hand for a VERY long time, If you get them second hand you can cleanse them if you feel the need but imo it isn't necessary.

    You don't need to bury them or anything, simply shuffle them well, handle them put your energies on them and familiarise yourself with your deck. Shuffle well before a reading and give them a really good shuffle after a reading.
    You may like to wrap them in a cloth or keep them in a box but really that is just about respecting your property, they aren't cheap and if looked after they'll last you a lifetime.

    I know someone who threw away a deck (shocking ) just because someone told them they were unlucky, imo it's nonsense, they are merely pieces of cardboard, it's how you use them which counts.

    Hope that helps



    Just when the caterpillar thought the world was over, it became a butterfly.

    Kaere
    Member

    Female
    Number of posts : 2719
    Registration date : 2009-05-19

    Re: need opinion

    Post  Kaere on Fri Apr 23, 2010 3:40 am

    I agree with Violet - I think there's a lot of Old Wives' Tales out there about tarot cards.

    For me, simply shuffling and putting them in order is enough to cleanse and establish energy.
    avatar
    Akyana
    Member

    Number of posts : 355
    Registration date : 2010-04-22

    Re: need opinion

    Post  Akyana on Fri Apr 23, 2010 8:09 am

    sprite wrote:I have recently bought a great tarot deck but have been told
    different things about what should be done, one way is to sleep with
    them before using them which is what I thought but someone else has
    mentioned that they should be burried for 24 hrs. What is everyones
    opinion on which is the best way?
    I agree with others,
    plus though I think ritual can never harm if done in a way that feels right for you.
    and it can even align you with the cardst better
    The best ritual is always the one you invent yourself,
    as it has your energies from the very start,
    but to get inspired from others is a good idea imo.

    Much luck with your new cards!
    avatar
    shayn
    Member

    Female
    Number of posts : 4035
    Age : 48
    Job/hobbies : tarot reader
    Registration date : 2009-02-18

    Re: need opinion

    Post  shayn on Fri Apr 23, 2010 9:27 am

    hi spirit, 
    i agree with all the above.  but before you do anything, just look at your cards, hold them, and listen to your heart, what do you feel is the best way for you to do with the cards.... learn to trust your inner voice it is the best teacher and it gives you the best answers for you.
    hugsand good luck
    shayn
    avatar
    Carolyn
    Member

    Female
    Number of posts : 541
    Age : 48
    Location : USA
    Job/hobbies : Writing, singing, and not wasting a moment of every day I wake up.
    Registration date : 2009-09-01

    Re: need opinion

    Post  Carolyn on Fri Apr 23, 2010 11:57 am

    oh for the love of god dont sleep with them until they are cleansed of the prior energy! who knows what their prior owner was like, and if they are brand new they have the negative energy of the publishing plant. You choose the best way. You can:


    • bury them
    • sprinkle herbs on them
    • keep them in a room with burning herbs, a bowl of water, a bowl of earth, by an open window, for however long you want
    • in between two gold candles anointed with herbal oils, lit preferably
    • but most of all be as creative as you want with this, this is your Walk :)

    skye
    Member

    Female
    Number of posts : 1246
    Registration date : 2009-09-06

    Re: need opinion

    Post  skye on Fri Apr 23, 2010 4:24 pm

    sprite wrote:I have recently bought a great tarot deck but have been told
    different things about what should be done, one way is to sleep with
    them before using them which is what I thought but someone else has
    mentioned that they should be burried for 24 hrs. What is everyones
    opinion on which is the best way? I know at the end of the day that
    everyone is different but just wondered if there are any beneifts of
    doing it one way or the other.

    What you do with the cards will make no difference in your potential to becoming a proficient reader or not. The cards are merely a focus point which helps you to tune into the energy of a recipient and access the required information and then pass it on.
    Practice, practice and practice alone is responsible for improving one's psychic ability of intuition. Practicing with friends or family can be encouraging but don't take the first few readings seriously insomuch as being correct. Allow room for error and growth as you begin your journey and you should be fine.

    Sponsored content

    Re: need opinion

    Post  Sponsored content


      Current date/time is Wed Jun 20, 2018 12:39 pm